Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Sofia University Library: FAQs

Homepage for the Sofia University Library

APA Citation Guides

The Sofia University Writing & Style Handbook is a PDF download that you can keep or print.  If you have questions about the Handbook, please talk to the Writing Lab staff.

General APA Guidelines (from Purdue University)

How do I...?

How do I find an article if I have a citation?

Navigate to Full Text Finder 
Type in the journal title.
Select the Journals Only Button to reduce the results and click on Search
When the journal results come up, read the section below the journal title. Various databases and our library's print collection will be listed there if applicable. If the journal is held in a database, you will click on the Database name to get to the articles for that journal. If the article is in our print collection, you can visit the library and scan or photocopy the article.
Drill down through the journal issues listed to the one you need.
Once you see the article you want, there should be the option to download a full text or PDF version of the article.

How do I find a book if I have a citation?

Navigate to the Online Catalog to see if Sofia University owns a particular book or e-book. 
Select the Title Search from the catalog menu.  Type in the title and click on the search button. 
If Sofia University does not have the book you may request it via interlibrary loan. 

How do I log in to a database?

Select the Online Databases tab.

Each link is tied to our authentication system, so you will be asked to log in when you are off campus.

Your logins will be emailed to you during orientation with the subject line, Sofia Library Database Access. The library database logins are not the same as your Canvas or Portal logins.

If you need help with your logins, you can contact us at Library@Sofia.edu.  Our policy is to email your passwords to an email address we have on file for you.  We do not give out passwords over the phone.

How do I renew books, DVDs, and CDs?

Start by logging in... Go to the library catalog and click on My Account in the menu.

If you are logging in for the first time, log in using your Sofia ID number as both your username and password. Please note that you cannot use your library database logins to log in to the library catalog at this time. 

If you have set your own Catalog password: 
Username: Sofia ID number 
Password: whatever you selected when you reset your password 

We can help you reset your password by emailing us.

Once you are logged in, you can select the My Checkouts link at the left menu. 

Checkmark the items you want to renew.  Click on the Renew button above the list of checkouts.  

How do I get a library card?

The student ID card doubles as your library card.  Please drop by the library or send your photo and contact information to Library@Sofia.edu.

 

 

Sofia University Library

Profile Photo
Lisa Sammon
Contact:
Sofia University
1069 E. Meadow Circle
Palo Alto, CA 94303
1-888-820-1484, x10391